Alissa’s Cottage Pie

So Friday evening in our house is a ‘have a glass of wine evening’ and relax. So I’ve prepared a cottage pie because I love cottage pie and also to show you just how different it is to hachis Parmentier which I made the other day! I’m a purist when it comes to my French hachis Parmentier but I tend to like to mix it up with the cottage pie. I love this dish and it reminds me of university when my grandma used to bring me frozen ones so that I would have homemade food! This week I found some fancy colorful carrots in the supermarket and couldn’t resist trying them out. Who knew shopping for carrots could be so fun….

Ingredients

Olive oil
One large chopped onion
500g beef mince (the leaner the better)
3 garlic cloves minced or chopped very small
300ml beef stock
1 tin of Heinz baked beans
5 carrots
Mashed potatoes (enough to cover the top of the oven proof dish you’re using)
Half a cup of grated cheese

Heat the oil in the pan and brown the chopped onion. Add the mince and cook until the mince is cooked through. Add the beef stock and simmer until it has been absorbed by the beef.

In a separate pan, boil the carrots until soft. Remove from the water and mash usually a potato masher to create smooth but leave some large bits of carrots for extra chunkiness!

Prepare your mashed potatoes…

Then start the layering. Place the mince at the bottom. Add the baked beans on top. Then add the layer of carrots. Then top with the mashed potatoes. Sprinkle with cheese! Cook in a preheated oven at 350F for 35 minutes or until golden brown! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

